Thorneloe University Chapel Garners Prestigious Architectural Award

April 28, 2017
The unique design of Thorneloe University’s chapel has garnered provincial recognition
alongside some of Canada’s most famous landmarks.
This year, the Fielding Memorial Chapel of St. Mark will share the Ontario Association of
Architects (OAA) Landmark Award with the Ontario Science Centre in Toronto. Past
Landmark Award recipients include Massey College, the Toronto Eaton Centre, the CN
Tower and Ontario Place.
The award recognizes “buildings that demonstrate architecture’s beauty, endurance and
lasting contribution to the community and to society,” which were constructed prior to
1992. The OAA Awards Ceremony will take place on May 26, 2017 in Ottawa.
Designed by Sudbury architect Arthur Townend, the Fielding Memorial Chapel of St.
Mark was constructed in 1968. It features a series of seven concrete walls placed in
ascending spiral formation.
The natural light that reflects on the concrete walls transforms the colour of the worship
space throughout the day, creating a warm and welcoming sanctuary. The design
features are so unique that faculty and students at the McEwan School of Architecture at
Laurentian University use the chapel as a case study.
“I am delighted that Thorneloe University is receiving this distinguished honour,” said the
Rev. Dr. Robert Derrenbacker, President of Thorneloe University. “Since renovations in
2011, the chapel has been used more and more for worship, teaching and retreats. I
invite members of the community to experience the space in the near future. It’s a gem
on the hill on the Laurentian University campus that has brought Thorneloe University
tremendous pride and praise.”
Thorneloe University has offered academic programming in the humanities for more than
50 years. As a founding member of the Laurentian University Federation, on the campus
of Laurentian University in Sudbury, Thorneloe is home to the departments of Ancient
Studies, Theatre and Motion Picture Arts, Religious Studies, Women’s, Gender and
Sexuality Studies, as well the Thorneloe University School of Theology.
For more information about Thorneloe University, visit